Dilano Van’t Hoff takes his first victory at Jerez

The Dutch driver took his seventh win of the season and won the rookie category title.

Dilano Van’t Hoff has been proclaimed, after his victory today, champion of the rookie category of the Spanish Formula 4. The MP Motorsport driver secured his first position in the rookie championship after taking pole position and leading all the laps of the race.

After him, it was Vladislav Ryabov who took the chequered flag in second position. The GRS driver, who has his second podium this season, was unable to catch the championship leader despite being in the slipstream for a large part of the race. Both drivers, who quickly distanced themselves from the chasing group, rode wheel to wheel until the final moments of the race.

It was only with less than five minutes to go that the Russian driver’s tyres gave out. Ryabov was unable to keep up with the pace set by Van’t Hoff, and ended up distancing himself by as much as two seconds.

Third place went to Quique Bordas. The Spanish Formula of Champions driver, who started in fourth position, fought with Rik Koen for the last step of the podium during the whole race. Although Bordas tried to overtake his rival on several occasions, the Dutch MP Motorsport driver managed to cross the finish line in third position. However, a two-second penalty for committing track limits dropped Koen to sixth place and Quique Bordas took the third step of the podium.

Following in Quique’s wake, Sebastian Ogaard and Pepe Martí also benefited from the penalty imposed on Koen, which allowed them to climb to fourth and fifth position respectively.