The last round of the Spanish F4 2021 championship has finished at the Circuit de Montmeló

Record number of drivers and teams for the best season in Spanish F4.

32 drivers of 15 different nationalities place the Spanish F4 Championship as an international benchmark, with a growth never experienced since its birth in 2016. With seven events held across Europe, the competition has moved this season to three different countries; Spain (5), Belgium (1) and Portugal (1) have been the countries that have hosted the event this 2021.

This season has also seen a record number of teams entered; Campos Racing, Pinnacle and Teo Martín Motorsport have joined the championship to make up a grid with eight teams on the same weekend.
The level of competitiveness has also been another of the characteristics of this season, and of the eight teams that have participated, all of them have managed to get on the podium on one occasion or another. In addition, four different teams have scored victories this season. (TMM, MP, FDC and Campos).

As far as the drivers’ championship is concerned, it is worth highlighting the perseverance of MP’s Dutchman Dilano Van’t Hoff, who managed to confirm his first place at Jerez, just one round before the end of the season. The Dutchman thus becomes the sixth Spanish Formula 4 champion, the fifth achieved by an MP Motorsport driver.

Also in Jerez, the Dutch MP Motorsport team also mathematically certified its team championship. The Dutch team has now won five of the six possible titles, the last two in a row.
Although the 2021 season officially ended last Sunday, 14 November at the Circuit de Barcelona, the Spanish Formula 4 Championship has been working for some time now with its sights set on 2022.

After the launch of the second generation of Formula 4 single-seaters, initially planned for 2021 but postponed for a year due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the RFEDA has decided to extend its relationship with the supplier company Tatuus, who will provide the new single-seater officially presented in Montmeló. With the halo and the possibility of hybridisation as the main new features, the Spanish Formula 4 continues its commitment to offer drivers and teams an attractive offer after its passage through karting.

This will not be the only change for next season, as the competition has also signed its new bases. In order to ensure the sustainable growth of the championship in the long term, the Spanish Formula 4 will limit the number of entries per round from next season onwards. This is set at a maximum of 28 cars, with a total of four seats per team.

Álvaro Martínez de Tejada, general coordinator of the championship: “Without a doubt, this season has been the most spectacular of the championship since its inception in 2016. We have experienced great battles on track and a spectacular atmosphere in the paddock, so we have high hopes for next year. We are confident that the momentum we have achieved will allow us to continue to grow and establish ourselves as a benchmark championship in the category at world level.
If you need more information or audiovisual material, please contact us.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email