Fórmula de Campeones signs Álvaro García & Maximus Mayer for 2022

The Spanish duo will debut in single-seaters this season  

Formula de Campeones team has announced Álvaro García (16, Valencia) and Maximus Mayer (16, Alicante) as their drivers for the 2022 F4 Spanish Championship season.

The talent school of the Circuit Ricardo Tormo completed the shoutout through a test drive at the Spanish track. One more driver from Alicante, Dani Briz, was also present in this selection and he will be the team’s reserve driver this season.

The three candidates are part of the Technification Center of the Ricardo Tormo Circuit (CETDM) program through which they combine their studies at the Cheste Educational Center and their physical and technical training at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit.

All of them completed four test sessions on Tuesday to compete, on Wednesday, for the two seats for 2022. This day consisted of a qualifying session and two heats of 12 and 18 laps as a race simulation.

A tight selection in Formula de Campeones

Ignacio Aviñó, President of the Valencian Community Motorsport Federation (FACV), witnessed the shoutout as a member of the technical commission in charge of supervising it.

The shoutout has consisted of F4 Spanish Championship weekend simulation with a qualifying session, a short race and a long race. Max Mayer was the fastest in qualy, Dani Briz was the fastest in the short race and the long race was led by Álvaro García. There were just two seats available for three drivers in contention, we knew that one would be out and in this case it was Dani Briz by very little“, explained Aviñó.

Both Álvaro García and Max Mayer are going to do a very good job in their first year in Formula 4. Despite their youth, they have shown that their years in go-karts and their physical preparation are enough to face their debut in circuits with guarantees. I am sure that we will be fighting in every race to be among the best rookies“, said Marco Rodriguez, Formula de Campeones Team Manager.

The 2022 F4 Spanish Championship season will start next April 29th at the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve in Portimao.