Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak & Nikola Tsolov take the wins on Sunday at Portimao

Podium at Autodromo International do Algarve
Podium at Autodromo International do Algarve

Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak & Nikola Tsolov take the wins on Sunday at Portimao

Thai driver dominated from lights-to-flag in Sunday's long race while Tsolov took the 15 points in an eventful race

We say goodbye to the first F4 Spanish Championship racing weekend in 2022. Portimao has witnessed an exciting start of the season, with 3 different winners.

It was a different Sunday terms of event format and Race 3 (25 min + 1 lap) was held in the morning while Race 2 (18 min + 1 lap) was the closing race of the weekend.

After Q2 in which 28 drivers fought in just 1 second with Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak as Poleman, the Thai didn't miss his chance.

After an uneventful start, 'Tern' dominated every lap of the race. At the start, Hugh Barter, Filip Jenic & Timoteusz Kucharzcyk tried to follow him, but the driver from MP was very solid throughout all the race and defended P1 until the checkered flag. The first podium of the day was completed by Jenic P2 & Kucharczyk P3, who finished in second position but was penalized with 2 seconds added to his race time for track limits.

Third race of weekend was an eventful one. It was the short event so race action was very little. Nikola Tsolov started from Pole and even solving the problems he had on Saturday, Tymoteusz Kucharczyk's start Timoteusz Kucharczyk was really good and the Polish faced turn 1 in front of the driver from Campos.

Tsolov did not give up and at the end of the straight he got back into first place to defend it for the rest of the race. Behind the top group, Jef Machiels and Jorge Campos had contact, finishing both out of the race and causing a long Safety Car period.

With just 5:30 to go the race was restarted but Safety Car was deployed again in that lap after an accident between Gael Julien & Vladislav in turn 13. It looked like the race was going to finish under Safety Car, but there was time for a last lap in which Suleiman Zanfari took third place from Hugh Barter to score his first podium in F4 Spanish Championship.

It is also worth mentioning the first point scored by Daniel Nogales in F4 with Teo Martín Motorsport or the first points scored by Monlau Motorsport in its F4 debut thanks to Robert de Haan.

With these results added to Saturday's, Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak is the new leader (51 points), followed by Hugh Barter (45 points) and Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (42 points), who leaves Portimao as the only driver to finish on the podium in all 3 races this weekend and as Rookie leader. On the other hand MP Motorsport starts the title defense with 91 points ahead of Campos Racing (71).

Next event of the F4 Spanish Championship will be held at Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto the weekend of May 28-29